Flex and FlexLib

Okay, so I spent my whole day working on the cocoa version of MediaInfo. I got something pretty decent, so I’ll leave it aside for a few days and focus a little bit more on my Flex works.

Upcoming are a bunch of tech articles on Flex components and a potential fork of  flexlib, which I’m planning to call reFlexLib. Flexlib is an amazing library of various useful flex components. It is of great quality and definitely something the consider if you’re planning a decent sized flex applications.

Unfortunately, the initial authors are busy on other projects, so the project is lacking maintenance. It got to the point where even when people were proposing help at various levels (myself being one of those people), they could not get SVN access to the project. Seems like the maintainers are busy on something else.

I don’t feel like letting all this code dying of old age, it has helped me a lot in my previous work, so now that I’ve got plenty of free time, I can get back to what I’ve been planning for a long time: clean up the initial code base, add in there a few (not so) complex components I’ve written in the last 2 years and try to relaunch to project so it can meet the popularity it deserves.

This will of course be discussed on the flexlib’s mailing list first, since I’d rather contribute directly to the project rather than fork it. More information coming soon.

Leave a comment